Reading outside your comfort zone

An occupational hazard of being a librarian, is that you are constantly finding books to read. It usually happens accidentally when you are ordering for the library’s collection, but regardless, it’s a nice perk about the job. I recently purchased a copy of Signs and Wonders by Alix Ohlin for the Main Library. It is a collection of 16 short stories with the underlying theme simply being human connection. Although I can’t even recall another short story collection that I’ve read, I am tremendously enjoying this book. Each story is different, yet within 10 or so pages, I’m able to connect to the characters and felt moved by their experiences – sometimes joyful, sometimes heartbreaking. I’m interested to read the last story and then reflect on the series as I’m thinking there should be some common thread… time will tell! Reading this book has now made me interested in other short story collections (one added benefit: you can usually get through an entire story in the few minutes before falling asleep!). For some other options, here is a list you may want to check out (click on the cover to place your hold in the catalogue):

 

 

 

 

So this new reading experience has made me think about other genres I may be missing out on. There are over 500,000 books published a year in the US, Canada and the UK alone, so there is no shortage of new material to choose from. By reading something new you can open up a whole world of books that were otherwise unknown to (or previously misjudged by!) you. Have you ever read outside your literary comfort zone and found something that you love?

About gpltara

Hi blog readers! I am an information services librarian at the Guelph Public Library (which essentially means I order materials for the library, help customers, look after the book club services and plan adult programs!). Personally, I love practicing yoga, baking cupcakes late at night, reading (surprise, surprise!), and escaping to the mountains whenever possible. I believe GPL plays such an important role in the Guelph community not only helping to connect people to information and great books, but also to each other through programs and other services.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading outside your comfort zone

  1. Tobagostreet says:

    William Boyd has at least three short story collections. My favourite is called ‘On the Yankee Station’. I’ve just taken it off my shelf to write you about it and find my self re-reading one of the stories. In it he uses the word ‘primavera’ which I think means spring, the season. So I look it up and find myself looking at Botticelli’s 15th century painting AND listening to Vivaldi’s ‘Primavera’ from The Four Seasons. Not that I know much about either classical painting or classical music,
    but reading opens the doors to those experiences.

    Anyway, William Boyd . . . or Alice Munro!

    Rob

Leave a Reply

