The Romantic Appeal of The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow

16139524A recent book review in Library Journal  suggested that fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society would enjoy reading The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow. The Last Telegram is a light, easy read that can be categorized as romantic, historical fiction. The main character in the novel is Lily Verner, who takes a retrospective look at her own life after the death of her husband.  The focus of the book is Lily’s life before and during World War II, when she begins to take an active role in her family’s silk business.

History buffs will be intrigued by this sketch of life on the home front in England and the detailed glimpse into wartime silk production (producing parachutes for the troops). Included are a number of historical references to silk, revealed through extracts from a book on the fiber by Lily’s father.  The author’s own life history was reflected in the novel, as Trenow’s family have been silk weavers for nearly 300 years and her inspiration was rooted in real people and real events.  Check out the author’s website to read about further biographical links to the novel.

While the characters are well-developed, the dialogue is occasionally weak. The book’s strongest feature is the core love story and all the tension that it inspires.  Lily had a dramatic romantic life prior to meeting her future husband.  Her relationship with a Jewish refugee named Stefan complicates her life, and makes her British coworkers anxious. The book ultimately leaves the reader with the message that people are willing to take extreme risks for love, and have an amazing capacity to survive and overcome the most heartwrenching losses.

Readalikes:

The%20Guernsey%20Literary%20and%20Potato%20Peel%20Society_jpgThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer

In 1946, writer Juliet Ashton finds inspiration for her next book in her correspondence with a native of Guernsey, who tells her about the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, a book club born as an alibi during German occupation. Epistolary novel. Summary supplied by Novelist. **The Library also owns a book club set for this title.

n123518The Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly

Her family and dreams shattered by her father’s untimely death at the hands of a ruthless tea baron, Fiona Finnegan flees East London and eventually establishes herself at the head of the tea trade in New York.  Romantic.  Rags-to-riches story. Summary supplied by Novelist.

Advertisements

About gplmarcia

Hello book aficionados! I am a librarian at GPL’s Main Library. Most of my time at work is spent on the Information Desk helping people with their information needs and, of course, finding a great book to read. I order the fiction books for the Main Library, so I have the inside track on what’s new, and what’s hot. In my spare time, I love to read (no surprise), walk my dogs (an English Setter and an Irish Red & White Setter) in the forest, visit the gym, and plan my next vacation (however humble that may be…I’m happy to go to the Blue Jays game).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Romantic Appeal of The Last Telegram by Liz Trenow

  1. Wow, thanks for a lovely review, Marcia. I am honoured to be in the company of The Guernsey Potato Pie Society, which I loved! Best wishes, Liz Trenow
    PS my next book, The Forgotten Seamstress, is out in May next year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s